Holy Cross students honored with scholarships

Irish scholarship pic.JPG

Holy Cross students received scholarships from the Irish-American Men’s Association.

Shown here are, front row, from left: Sarah Connor, Emma Otis, Justin Walker, Maggie Arcuri and Julia Mancuso. Back row, same order: Benjamin Tolerico, principal; Gary Mrozinski, Ed. D., Chairman of the Education Fund Committee of the Irish-American Men’s Association; Ted Zweibel, member of the Irish-American Men’s Association; Msgr. David Tressler, Diocesan Secretary for Catholic Education/Superintendent of Catholic Schools.

Neil Armstrong School receives Certificate of Recognition

Neil Armstrong School Pix.jpg

The Lackawanna County Commissioners presented a Certificate of Recognition to the staff and students at Neil Armstrong School in Scranton for their support of Law Enforcement Awareness Day.

This event honors the dedication and commitment of public safety personnel in their mission to protect and defend the residents of both the City of Scranton and Lackawanna County.

Shown from left are: Commissioner Patrick M. O’Malley, Dan Gilroy, school principal; Commissioner Laureen A. Cummings, Commissioner Jerry Notarianni, and Scranton Police Chief Carl Graziano.


St. Mary of Mount Carmel Grade School Class Plans Reunion

St. Mary of Mount Carmel Grade School.jpg

Committee members from left to right are: Sam Beawick, Jerry Conway, Rob Meehan, John Kohansky, Bob McDonald, Bill Ciccotti, Patrick Cuff, Tom Leshinski, and Jim McCormick, president of the reunion committee.

Former students of Saint Mary Of Mount Carmel Grade School, gathered at the Brooklyn Pub in Dunmore to conduct their first reunion committee meeting for the 50th reunion of the Class of 1966. The event is in the planning stages at the present time, but the committee has many great ideas and is confident the celebration will be one to remember.