Athlete of the Month: Logan Tierney

By Steve Svetovich

Logan Tierney did it all. 

The 6-2, 195-pound junior excelled on both ends of the ball as the Holy Cross Crusaders football team snapped a 13-game losing streak with a 34-28 opening day win over Holy Redeemer Saturday, Aug. 28, at Saint Anthony’s Memorial Park, Dunmore.

Logan dominated the contest at both his tailback and outside linebacker positions.

He rushed for 242 yards on 22 carries while scoring three touchdowns on runs of one, five and 50 yards. His first touchdown came in the second quarter and the final two were in the final quarter. 

From his outside linebacker position, he contributed double-digit tackles to lead the Holy Cross defense.

Holy Cross, two years removed from cancelling the 2019 season because of low participation, ended a 13-game losing streak, posting their first win since Sept. 1, 2018, when the Crusaders beat Montrose, 13-6. 

Holy Cross senior Gavyn Grems added 87 yards rushing on 10 carries, including a 26-yard bolt in the third quarter giving the Crusaders a 21-14 lead. Holy Cross did not look back.

Logan’s one-yard plunge gave Holy Cross a 7-0 lead after the extra point, with 11:24 left in the second quarter. His 50-yard sprint gave the Crusaders a 34-21 lead, with 1:58 left in the game. His six-yard burst for a touchdown came with 5:22 left in the contest.

Son of Tom and Angela Tierney, Logan is a three-year member of the Holy Cross football team. He has been a forward for the past two years on the basketball team. He has a 3.4 academic grade point average. His best subjects are English and history.

Logan said he is learning a lot from new Holy Cross head football coach Joe Giorgio.

“He has a lot of knowledge about the game. He is a very determined and patient coach. He devised a great playbook for us. He goes over all the plays with everyone very patiently.”

Logan said his mom and dad taught him a lot. “They tell me to always act like you have been there before. Be classy and respectful and stay humble. Keep to yourself.”

The junior standout talked about what it takes to be a good tailback in high school football. “You need good field vision. You need to be strong and patient. And you need a good line.”

And to excel as an outside linebacker? “You need a lot of patience and field awareness of your surroundings. You need to be able to follow good instructions and listen to your coaches.”

Logan said his hobbies are sports, lifting, and hanging with friends. He enjoys music and would like to see Travis Scott in concert.

The scholar-athlete said he has aspirations to eventually become a physical therapist. His big dream would be to attend Notre Dame. 

He loves Holy Cross High School. “I absolutely love it here,” he said. “It’s a great school. The teachers are very nice and will do anything to help you. The principal, administration and staff root for you on the football field or in any other sport. There is a lot of school unity.”

He talked about both team and personal goals. “We want to win as many football games as possible and finish with a winning record. We want a positive record. I would like to rush for at least 600 yards and maybe even 1,000 and score at least 10 touchdowns to help us win games. In basketball, we are shooting for another district title and to go as far as possible in states. I also want to make high honors in all four quarters.”

The diminutive and speedy tailback said his performance in helping his team win the first game of the season felt pretty good. “It was an amazing feeling,” he said. “Last season was not the greatest. This first game was high impact. It felt terrific to get this win.”

First Year Coach Giorgio Looking to Win Games for Holy Cross

By Steve Svetovich

Holy Cross first year head football coach Joe Giorgio is looking to create a winning attitude for the Crusaders.

Giorgio, a 1979 Dunmore graduate where he played basketball and baseball, knows a lot about the Holy Cross football program already. He was the Holy Cross freshman football coach in 2011-12. He served as an assistant football coach for the Crusaders from 2017 until he was named the new head coach this season. 

Giorgio received an associate degree from Keystone Junior College and attended the University of Scranton. He is married to the former Lynn Kamora. The couple has two children: Michael, 28, of Virginia, and Nicole, 32, of Maryland.

Giorgio said Holy Cross has a good turnout for football this season and his players are enthusiastic, excited and expecting to win games.

“I really didn’t expect a turnout of 28 kids when we started practice,” he said. “But the kids are really into it. They are buying into the program. They are excited and looking to create a winning culture.

Holy Cross Head Football Coach Joe Giorgio

“We had no seniors last year, so everyone who played for us is returning. We started four freshmen last year. They are all returning. Plus we have a few new players.”

Holy Cross was 0-5 last year in the COVID-19 shortened season.

Giorgio is assisted at Holy Cross by Vince Coviello, Chris Coviello, Corey Coviello, Jim Talarico, Dom Possanza and Jake Gatto.

“We expect to get a few wins this year,” said coach Giorgio. “We were on the field for a few games and got some experience last year. And now it’s paying dividends. We are hoping to be at least a .500 team this year. We are going to win some games and be much more competitive.”

Giorgio, 60, said the entire Holy Cross offensive line will be back. The line includes senior right guard Nick Cabets, junior left guard Cody Schnoover, junior center Pio Tanana, sophomore right tackle Chris Petrucci, and senior left tackle Matt Tucker.

Wide receiver Connor Art returns as a sophomore.

Nate Cobley, a senior transfer from Scranton High School, will be the starting quarterback. Sean Herbert, a senior and the quarterback last season, will be a starting wide receiver. Logan Tierney, a junior, will be the starting tailback. Tierney started four games at tailback last season. 

Cabets will be the kicker. Cobley will handle the punting duties.

Key defensive players will be Tierney at linebacker and Cabets at defensive end. Senior stalwart Tucker returns at tackle on the defensive line. 

“Our guys are putting in the time and effort,” coach Giorgio said. “The best thing is that we played five games last year and we got to practice. So the kids have some time on the playing field. Having those five games during COVID helped us a lot.

“Most of the kids last year never played football before. Now they have the experience. And it is now showing during practice. These kids are excited and hungry. They are all going to play and win some games. We will be highly competitive.”

Coach Giorgio says, “We are all very much looking forward to the start of the season. The kids are excited and working hard in summer practices.”