UNICO Announces Coloring Contest Winners

Dunmore’s Keystone Chapter UNICO National recently announced the winners from the 10th annual Columbus Day Coloring Contest conducted for all students in the second-grade classes at the Dunmore Elementary Center and Saint Mary’s Parochial School. 

The student with the winning entry from each of the second grades received their artwork entry professionally framed and a $25 gift card to Wal-Mart. 

Pictured at Dunmore Elementary Center are, from left: James Mack, Keystone UNICO Coloring Contest chairman; Frank Coviello, Keystone UNICO board president; Mary Ann Coviello, Keystone UNICO Chapter president;  Mrs. Del Guercio and Sophia Mendoza of 2-5; Mrs. Cordaro and Cate Tripodi of 2-2;  Mrs. Walsh and Emma Grace Hessmiller of 2-3;  Mrs. Gavalla and Dharshith Jayganesh of 2-1; Mrs. Amendolaro and Caden Tierney of 2-4; Ms. Corbett, guidance counselor;  and Mr. Quinn, principal.    


Pictured with the winner in the Annual Keystone UNICO Columbus Day Coloring Contest from Saint Mary’s Parochial School are from left: Jim Mack, Keystone UNICO Coloring Contest chairman;  Hannah Bowmaster, second grade teacher;  R. J. Moeller, contest winner;  Mary Ann Coviello, Keystone Chapter president; Frank Coviello, Keystone Chapter board chairman;  Maryelizabeth Shattin, principal; and Mark McDade, Keystone UNICO Charter president.    

“Random Act of Kindness” Benefits Ronald McDonald House

Along with honoring Christopher Columbus on Oct. 12, Ronald McDonald House was chosen by Keystone Chapter UNICO to be the recipient of its”Random Act of Kindness” program.  Further donations can be made payable to Ronald McDonald House, 332 Wheeler Ave., Scranton PA 18510.

Pictured on the far left is Warren Shotto, Executive Director of Ronald McDonald House. 

Presenting the check and kneeling in the front row are Toni DiVizio and Cathy Bianchi.  Standing from left are President Mary Ann Coviello, Mia O’Neill (holding the Keystone UNICO sign), Valerie Riggi, Frank Coviello, Mark McDade, Louise Ligi, Sylvia Tagert, Marilyn Vitali, Bob Tagert and Michele McDade.

Inaugural Year For Keystone UNICO Family Scholarships

In the inaugural year for the Keystone Chapter UNICO Family Scholarships, one of the first two awardees was Frank Ruggiero, shown here receiving his award at the chapter’s board of directors meeting at Arcaro & Genell Restaurant, Old Forge.

Ruggiero, center, is pictured with Scholarship Director Sandra Collins, left, and Chapter President Mary Ann Coviello.  


Elisa Delfino was also awarded a Keystone Chapter UNICO Family Scholarship for 2021. She received her scholarship from Keystone UNICO at its Membership Meeting at the Villa Maria Restaurant. 

Pictured from left are Scholarship Director Sandra Collins, Keystone NICO Family Scholarship awardee Elisa Delfino, and Keystone UNICO President Mary Ann Coviello.