UNICO Hosts BINGO Party for Area Veterans

Keystone Chapter UNICO sponsored a Saint Patrick’s Day Bingo Party at Gino Merli Veterans’ Center of Northeastern PA.  Due to covid restrictions, Keystone members were not allowed to be in person at the Bingo, as they have done these past 10 years.

Shown at the Gino Merli presentation, from left are: Keystone UNICO Member Bob Tagert; Gino Merli Interim Deputy Commandant Margo Coleman; Keystone UNICO Member Mark McDade; Gino Merli Activity Director Pam Wood and Volunteer Resource Coordinator Janice McAllister; Keystone UNICO Members Frank Coviello, Val Riggi, President Mary Ann Coviello, Marilyn Vitali and Louise Ligi.

UNICO Members March in Scranton St. Pat’s Parade

Pictured are marchers from Dunmore’s Keystone Chapter UNICO just before the 60th Saint Patrick’s Day Parade Liturgical Celebration at Saint Peter’s Cathedral, Scranton.

Shown from left: Michele McDade, Tom Carlucci, Mark McDade, Parade Association President Jaime Hailstone, Honorary Parade Marshalls Mary and Drew Hailstone, Sylvia and Bob Tagert, Cathy Gerard, President Mary Ann Coviello, and Frank Coviello.

Keystone UNICO to Mark 10th Anniversary

Committee Members planning Keystone UNICO’s Pig Roast/Tenth Anniversary planned to benefit ClothesLine For Men include, front row, from left: Michele McDade, Bob and Sylvia Tagert, anniversary cochairs; Meghan Loftus, CEO and president, Friends of the Poor; Bonnie Haluska, volunteer program manager for ClothesLine for Men, and Mary Ann Coviello, Keystone UNICO president.  standing from left: Nanine Gramigna, Bob and Sandy Collins, Mark McDade, Frank Coviello, Diane Beckage, MaryLou Karliak, Tom Carlucci, Cathy Gerard, Cesira Berardelli, Gloria Rizzo, Toni DiVizio, Nancy Malone, Val Riggi, Louise Ligi, Ann Summa, and Jim Mack.  

Dunmore’s Keystone Chapter UNICO has begun the planning of its Tenth Anniversary to be held on Saturday, April 23, at Fiorelli’s Catering & Banquet Hall, Peckville.  

Keystone UNICO was chartered in Dunmore on Saturday, April 14, 2012.  At the time, no one could recall a larger UNICO National Chapter being chartered, nor has there been one since.  

For close to 10 years, it has held the distinction of being the second largest chapter in UNICO National and has been recognized by National for its accomplishments yearly.  

An average of three scholarships are awarded per year and charitable donations are awarded monthly.  The Anniversary Committee has been hard at work to make this 10th Anniversary a special evening.  “ClothesLine For Men,” a sub-division of the “Friends of the Poor,” will be the primary beneficiary for this event.  The event will have a Black and White Theme and formal attire will be welcomed but not required.  

There will be entertainment for listening and dancing pleasure by ‘Frank and Toby,” along with a surprise or two.  

On hand will be the following raffles: The Italian Money Umbrella; Wilbur the Classic Italian Maiale, with his belly filled with cash, and the ever-popular Italian Basket Raffle.  

Nick Toma, WYOU/WBRE TV Newscaster, will be announcing the raffle winners.  All guests will receive a souvenir photo taken that evening by Richard Banick.  

The dinner will be Fiorelli’s Famous UNICO Pig Roast buffet.  Sponsorship opportunities and program book ads are available by calling Mark McDade at 570-343-7009.  

This event is open to the public and tickets can be purchased from all chapter members or by calling President Mary Ann Coviello at 570-344-3737 or Michele McDade at 570-343-7009. ​