UNICO’s COVID-19 Relief Initiative Helps Friends of the Poor

Dunmore’s Keystone Chapter UNICO National recently presented its fifth Covid-19 Relief Initiative donation this year.  In recognition of Friends of the Poor’s continued good works during this pandemic, Keystone UNICO donated $1,000 to assist in their efforts. 

Anyone wishing to make a donation can send their tax-free donation payable to “Friends of the Poor” at 2300 Adams Ave., Scranton, PA 18509.

Pictured at the Keystone UNICO check presentation to Friends of the Poor are, from left: Keystone Chapter UNICO Board Members Toni DiVizio and Michele McDade, Board Chairman Frank Coviello, Mark McDade, Chapter President Mary Ann Coviello, Louise Ligi and Friends of the Poor President and CEO Meghan E. Loftus. 

UNICO Creates Thank You DVDs for Veterans

In lieu of its annual bingo party for veterans at the Merli Center and St. Francis Commons, the Scranton Chapter of UNICO National created a DVD of greetings and thanks and, along with gift certificates for sheet cakes. The video production went through the UNICO Veterans Committee.

Charlie Spano is shown presenting the DVD and gift certificates to Lorenzo Singotti, St. Francis Commons staff member, as Jack Trapani, Mary Marrara and Chapter president Gail Cicerini observe.


Jack Trapanig and Janice McCallister, volunteer resource coordinator for the Merli Center, observe as Commandant James Miller receives a DVD and gift certificates from Gail Cicerini, Scranton Chapter of UNICO president as Mary Marrara and Charlie Spano, UNICO committee members assist.

Random Act of Kindness Benefits Community Intervention Center

Dunmore’s Keystone Chapter UNICO National recently donated $400 to the Community Intervention Center as part of their Random Act of Kindness Initiative.  The CIC serves as a day shelter providing telephone contact, mail privileges, daily storage and late afternoon nourishments for displaced and/or homeless individuals in a non-threatening environment, along with referrals to all other social services. 

Anyone wishing to make a monetary donation can make a check payable to “Community Intervention Center” and send to 445 N. 6th Ave, Scranton, PA 18503.  For more information call Kim at 570-342-4298.

Presenting a $400 donation from Keystone Chapter UNICO National to the Community Intervention Center, are, front row from left: Cathy Bianchi, District Governor UNICO PA II; Frank Coviello, Keystone Chapter board chairman; Kim Cadugan, executive director of the Community Intervention Center, and Mary Ann Coviello, Keystone Chapter president.  Back row, same order: Mark McDade, Michele McDade, Bob Tagert and Val Riggi, Keystone Chapter board members.