“The Poets” Take Their Final Bow

The Poets Good Works Pix

The Poets are synonymous with musical entertainment.  For 56 years, the musical group has brought joy to thousands of people at clubs, weddings, birthdays, anniversaries and special events.

The band has also opened for many national acts that performed here and also inspired others to get into the music business. What began in 1963 took its final curtain call in April.

Shown at a Good Works award  presentation are, from left: Lackawanna County Commissioner Jerry Notarianni, Pat Luongo, Nick Luongo, Frank Gervasi, John Hollenbaugh and Alan Shields, from The Poets and Commissioners Laureen A. Cummings and Patrick M. O’Malley.

UNICO Prepares for Annual Charity Fundraiser


Scranton Chapter of UNICO will host its 58th annual charity fundraiser at Genetti’s Manor on Saturday, March 4.

Reservations at $60 per person are required and may be made by calling 570-558-8519. Sponsors may call or contact any Scranton UNICO member. Entertainment will be provided by “The Poets.” Mary Marrara, Jermyn, will be this year’s honoree as UNICAN of the Year.

Members of the sponsor book committee include, from left: Phil Mararra, Joanne Quattrone, cochairman; Linda Stefursky, Dr. Al Giallorenzi, Gail Cicerini, cochairman, and Ed Staback. Chris DiMattio and Jim Brogna, not pictured, chair the sponsor committee.



Reception committee members for the Scranton UNICO charity event include, from left:  Jerry Healey, Bill Buckley and Frank Blasi Sr.



Seating committee members for the 58th annual charity fundraiser sponsored by  Scranton Chapter of UNICO include, from left:  Bill Buckley, Pat Yanni and Frank Blasi Sr.

Not pictured are members Chris DiMattio and Mary Marrara.


Co-chairmen of the UNICO charity fundraiser are, from left: Gail Cicerini and Joanne Quattrone, with Chapter President Jim Baress, and UNICO Board Chairman Dave Bieri.



Basket committee members for the UNICO event include, from left: Rose Blasi, Palma Yanni, Blaise Alan Dente, Patti Montalbano, and Lori Nozzi, cochairmen.