Leadership Lackawanna Core Class 2020-2021

The Leadership Lackawanna Core program Class of 2020-2021 recently held its first session. This year’s class will participate in a mix of virtual and in-person sessions.

“Although COVID has changed the structure of our Core program, I have no doubt this year’s class will graduate feeling accomplished,” said Nicole Morristell, executive director of Leadership Lackawanna.  “This year’s participants have accomplished great things in their past, and I look forward to seeing how they will use the leadership skills they acquire over the next 10 months.”

In Leadership Lackawanna’s 10-month Core Program participants gain leadership, interpersonal and managerial skills, as well as an enhanced understanding of the issues relevant to the Greater Scranton area, through monthly sessions.  Areas of focus include community development, economic development, government, health care, law, education, quality of life, sustainability, history and media, with sessions featuring widely recognized specialists.  Members of the class also devote a large portion of their time to developing and implementing community projects, hence enhancing their leadership abilities, fostering teamwork and benefiting local nonprofit organizations.

The Leadership Lackawanna Core Program Class of 2020-2021: Stephanie Abraham, FNCB Bank; Jennifer Azarowicz, The Azek Company; Bailyn Bench, Proctor & Gamble; Joseph Bilotta, Tobyhanna Army Depot; Kenrick Brewster, Greater Scranton YMCA; Megan Coleman, Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine; Michelle Cook, Community Bank, N.A.; Chris DePrimo, Penn Foster; Timothy Frank, Educational Opportunity Centers, Inc.; Alexander Gundling, Penn Foster; Vicki Hazzouri, Benco Dental; Patrick Keehan, University of Scranton SBDC; Matt Lewis, Allied Services; Kris Liebegott, Lackawanna College; Mackenzie Madigan, Gertrude Hawk Chocolates; Justin Marino, United Neighborhood Centers; Meredith Mercuri, Barry Callebaut; Jesse Novatski, Penn State Scranton; Sara Rinkunas, Penn State Scranton; Sean Ritter, Fancy Parsley Architecture+Design; Michele Santaniello, Fidelity Bank; Jennifer Shoemaker, Outreach Center for Community Resources; Erika Thomas, NBT Bank; Chrissy Thomas, Prudential Retirement; Walter Tompkins, The Azek Company; Frank Wanat, Tobyhanna Army Depot; Danielle Weinschenk, Tobyhanna Army Depot; Robert Welsch, Tobyhanna Army Depot; Vivian Williams, Scranton Area Foundation; and Thomas Zurla, FNCB Bank.

Leadership Lackawanna Helps Improve YMCA Play Area

The Leadership Lackawanna Core Class team celebrates the new play area at the Greater Scranton YMCA’s Early Learning Center in Dunmore.

Pictured from left: Leadership Lackawanna Core Program team members Suzanne Kennedy, Community Bank NA; Patrick Lindmeier, Mitsubishi Chemical Advanced Materials; Megan Kofira, Weiler Abrasives Group; Alonzo Baker, Penn Foster; Nicolette Stine, Tobyhanna Army Depot, and Dawn Talley, Saint Joseph’s Center.

The team assisted the YMCA’s Early Learning Center by providing enhancements to the existing play area which was designated for riding tricycles. The improvements included creating a track for the preschool-aged children to ride tricycles, as well as multi-themed decorations for the playground that is located at the front of the facility.

Leadership Lackawanna Celebrates 36th Program Year

Leadership Lackawanna copy

Front row, from left: Jaka Wescott, Jill Krolikowski, Lauren Rusen, Lisa M. Wesneski, Sherry A. Frable, Christine Healey, Stephanie Longo, Michelle McMaster, Erica Carrescia and Kristen Baigis DePietro. Middle row: Jennifer Mackey, Michele L. Lemoncelli, Justin Patchcoski, Alexandra Loder, Alexander Harris Bricker, Jennifer Thomas, Carmen A. Brutico III, Jeff Bonczek, Judith Delaney, Tracey Supple and Vincent Yates. Back row: Brian Spinelli, Neil Prisco, Jennie Davis, Gopu Kiron, C.J. Rinaldi, Kevin Morgan, Rachel Sweeney, Edmund T. Hunter III, Mark F. Williams and James Kuzmak. Frank J. Ohotnicky is also a member of this year’s class.

Leadership Lackawanna, the region’s premier community leadership and professional development organization, recently hosted its annual, end-of-year event, Celebration of Leadership, at the Hilton Scranton & Conference Center.

In celebration of its 36th program year, this event paid tribute to Leadership Lackawanna’s history of visionary leadership success in northeastern Pennsylvania. It also highlighted achievements from the past year and honored the participants in the Leadership Lackawanna Core Program Class of 2019 and their project showcases, which benefitted four local nonprofit organizations, including St. Joseph’s Center, The Ritz Theater, NEPA Youth Shelter and The Scranton Cultural Center at the Masonic Temple.

The Leadership Lackawanna Core Program Class of 2019 is as follows: Jeff Bonczek, Baker Tilly Virchow Krause, LLP;  Alexander Harris Bricker, Procter & Gamble; Carmen A. Brutico III, Sordoni Construction Services, Inc.; Erica Carrescia, Tobyhanna Army Depot; Jennie Davis, TMG Health, A Cognizant Co.; Judith delaney, Prudential; Kristen Baigis DePietro, Classic Properties; Sherry A. Frable, Marywood University; Christine Healey, Penn State Scranton;

Edmund T. Hunter III, Online Labels; Gopu Kiron, Lackawanna College; Jill Krolikowski, Penn Foster.

Also, James Kuzmak, Sanofi Pasteur;  Michele L. Lemoncelli, Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine; Alexandra Loder,  Procter & Gamble; Stephanie Longo, The Greater Scranton Chamber of Commerce; Jennifer Mackey, St. Joseph’s Center; Michelle McMaster, Fidelity Bank; Kevin Francis Morgan, Montage Mountain Resorts; Frank J. Ohotnicky, Keystone College; Justin Patchcoski, PennWood Financial;  Neil Prisco, WVIA Public Media;

  1. J. Rinaldi, Community Bank, NA; Lauren Rusen, Benco Dental; Brian Spinelli, Prudential.

Also, Tracey Supple, Tobyhanna Army Depot; Rachel Sweeney, Geisinger Steele Institute for Health Care Innovation; Jennifer Thomas, Penn Foster; Jaka Wescott, Ronald McDonald House; Lisa M. Wesneski, Tobyhanna Army Depot; Mark F. Williams, Tobyhanna Army Depot;

Vincent Yates, FNCB Bank.