Area youth ballroom dancers take home top titles



Pink Flamingo dancers include, from left: Elizabeth Newton, Dickson City; Anna Gabello, Dunmore; Nora Flannery, Scranton; Colleen Blockberger, Dunmore; and Cecelia and Caroline Kennedy, Scranton.

The Pink Flamingos competition team of Ballroom ONE Dance Company is taking kids ballroom dancing to a new level in NEPA.

The Pink Flamingos team consists of six dancers ages 10-12 that train in Ballroom, Latin and Swing Dance at Ballroom ONE Dance Company in Scranton  under the direction of Mrs. Shauna Turlip.

The Pink Flamingos recently competed at the Talent Olympics dance competition on Dec. 3, 2016.

They were awarded first place for their Mambo dance in the Ethnic category; first place Swing dancing in the Novelty also received a special judges award for “great partnering skills” and the Professionalism award.

The Pink Flamingos are fairly new to the competitive world of dance, having only began competing in 2015.

Last season the team competed in the 2015 Talent Olympics winning first place with their Charleston dance, first place with a Swing Dance and receiving the Best Costume award.

They also competed at the 2015 Dancers Inc Regional Dance Competition where the Pink Flamingos received first place with their Charleston dance; first place with a Swing dance; third overall and fFirst overall in their division

Shortly after their venture in the competitive dancing field began The Pink Flamingos and Mrs. Turlip were approached by a casting agency to audition for a new Reality TV show “Ballroom Coaches and Kids”

The pilot, featuring the Pink Flamingos and Mrs. Turlip along with a few other child ballroom dancers and their instructor,  is currently in the editing process and being pitched to television networks.


Holy Cross students place in National Latin Exam

Holy Cross Latin exam photo.jpg

Holy Cross students recently participated in the 2015-2016 National Latin Exam. Shown here are those who received gold, silver, or bronze medals.

Front row, from left: Nina Beggin, Emma Connolly, Rosalie Bennie, Anysia Jurgiewicz, Meghan Keenan, Abigail Walsh, Chloe Pearce, Elisabeth Johnson, Mollie Burda, Destiny Marino, Lauren Torre, Christina Shaffern and Reilly Dugan.

Second row: Mrs. Jennifer Gallagher, Cassandra Sporko, Amanda Alfano, Aubrey McGovern, Alexandria Carter, Victoria Tanana, Olivia Zehel, Marla Gambucci, Kierra Saldi, Hannah Carr, Meghan Healey, Ashlynn Cox, Julianna Innocenti, and Mrs. Carmel D’Angelo.

Third row: Rachel Moffit, Felicia Dzielak, Nina Mucciolo, Courtney McDonnell, Gianna Sacchetti, Allison McGee, Caroline Krancik, Lauren Palmiter, Ericka Pica, Kaylee Magda, Alana Siock, Zoe Haggerty and Monica Shaffern.

Fourth row: John Jeffrey Montefour, Nicholas Klein, Declan Tokash, Jacob Rasimovich, Nicholas Cerep, Matthew Cerep and Thomas Niemiec.

Fifth row: William Legg, Thomas Dzwonczyk, Joshua Mies, Charlie Pettinato and Eric Rine.

Sixth row: Jaren Griffin, Edward Gregoriwicz, Patrick Galvin and Ronald James.