Chamber of Commerce Hosts International Women’s Day Luncheon

The Greater Scranton Chamber of Commerce hosted its annual International Women’s Day Luncheon recently at Marywood University’s Nazareth Student Center,  sponsored by The Honesdale National Bank.

Guest speaker, Mary Ann Iezzi, executive director at Dress for Success Lackawanna, spoke about this year’s International Women’s Day theme, #BreakTheBias.

Shown from left: Bob Durkin, president, Greater Scranton Chamber of Commerce; Donna Barbetti, Michael A. Barbetti LLC Certified Public Accountants and ATHENA Award sponsor; Dr. Maria Montoro Edwards, president and CEO of Maternal and Family Health Services and ATHENA Award recipient; Elizabeth Nagy, VP, director of sales, marketing and digital, The Honesdale National Bank and luncheon sponsor; Mari Potis, director of membership and events; The Greater Scranton Chamber of Commerce; and Deborah Kolsovsky, managing director, PNC Bank, and board chair, The Greater Scranton Chamber of Commerce.

New COVID Recovery Loan Program in Lackawanna County

MetroAction, Inc. – the non-profit, small business financing affiliate of The Greater Scranton Chamber of Commerce – announced its launch of the Lackawanna County COVID Recovery Loan Program, created to provide capital to businesses impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic.

The program provides low-interest loans to Lackawanna County businesses for working capital purposes. Eligible uses include, but are not limited to, lease or mortgage payments, utility payments, payroll, and other operational expenses. In addition, businesses can use the loan capital to purchase machinery, equipment, or technology that will allow the business to expand its operations.

“The COVID-19 pandemic continues to pose great challenges for our small business community. This fund was established to support Lackawanna County businesses with day-to-day operations as well as growth opportunities,” stated Jack Reager, MetroAction President. 

Funding is limited for this loan program. Applications will be funded on a first approved, first funded basis. 

Funding for this program was provided by Lackawanna Industrial Fund Enterprises (LIFE), Lackawanna County, the Hawk Family Foundation, and the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.   

Additional program information including program guidelines can be found on or

SAGE Award Winners Announced

The Greater Scranton Chamber of Commerce hosted its Chamber Gala in November, presenting the Fall 2021 SAGE Awards – the Scranton Awards for Growth and Excellence. This year’s event was held at the Hilton Scranton & Conference Center and sponsored by Fidelity Bank.

Chamber board chair, Deborah Kolsovsky, opened the ceremony thanking all finalists, award sponsors, and Gala sponsors for their dedication to the NEPA community. Emcee for the evening was Barry Snyder – formerly known as B-Ray with the Scranton/Wilkes-Barre baseball franchise and now with the United Way of Lackawanna and Wayne Counties.  Musical entertainment was provided by Lexington Entertainment and EJ the DJ.

The SAGE Awards honor outstanding local businesses for their talent, creativity, and innovation. The Fall SAGE Awards also included the IMPACT Awards, which were created to honor and recognize the innovation our local businesses employed due to COVID-19.

The Chamber congratulates all finalists and winners of the Fall 2021 SAGE Awards. The winners in each category are: Scranton Area Community Foundation, Best Practices in Community Involvement; Center City Print, Best Practices in Customer Service; Fidelity Bank of Dunmore, Best Practices in Marketing and Communication; Golden Technologies, Business of the Year; Scranton Tomorrow, Hometown Star; NeighborWorks of Northeastern Pennsylvania, Impact: Community Outreach; Golden Technologies, Impact: People and Culture; Montage Mountain Resorts, Impact: Products and Services.

Also, Reed Advisory Group, New and Emerging Business of the Year; Agency for Community EmPOWERment of NEPA, Non-Profit Organization of the Year; Friends of the Poor, People’s Choice, and Quest Studio, Small Business of the Year.