Lackawanna County Students Awarded Swift Scholarships

Swift scholarships

Twenty students from 13 different high schools in the area have been awarded a prestigious scholarship through the James F. Swift Scholarship Fund administered by the Scranton Area Community Foundation, which provides $4,000 per year for each recipient for up to four years to assist with continuing education expenses. 

The James F. Swift Scholarship Fund has awarded over $2.9 million since 2008, benefiting over 220 local students to date. Created in 2002 through a gift by James F. Swift to the Scranton Area Community Foundation, the James F. Swift Scholarship Fund provides support for higher education for students graduating from high schools in Lackawanna County. Following Mr. Swift’s death in 2006, the Scranton Area Community Foundation gratefully received a significant gift from his estate to the scholarship fund which has allowed a great number of students from Lackawanna County the opportunity to pursue their academic and professional goals through higher education. 

The scholarship aims to provide an ongoing stream of matriculation at Lackawanna County colleges and universities. It is the goal of the Scranton Area Community Foundation to award 75 percent  of the scholarships to students who plan to attend institutions of higher learning in the Lackawanna County region.

Scranton Area Community Foundation President and CEO Laura Ducceschi praised the generosity of Mr. Swift, noting “he has left a permanent and enduring legacy for the young people of our region. His scholarship fund makes higher education more attainable for generations of students.”

The Scranton Area Community Foundation is a partner with the Pennsylvania Higher Education Assistance Agency (PHEAA) in their Partnership for Access to Higher Education (PATH) Program to offer qualifying students additional financial aid. Through PHEAA, these scholarship recipients may be eligible for additional dollars toward their tuition.

For more information on the James F. Swift Scholarship Fund at the Scranton Area Community Foundation, please contact Brittany Pagnotti, Communications Manager of the Scranton Area Community Foundation at 570-347-6203. 


Recipients are shown in above photo. Front row, from left: Cathy Fitzpatrick, Grants, Scranton Area Community Foundation; Elizabeth Stone, Christina Carachilo, Calista Calabro, Meghan Keenan, Jade Wehner, Drew Yanni, and Laura Ducceschi, President and CEO, Scranton Area Community Foundation.

Middle row, same order: Emma Coar, Gia Occhipinti, Tiffini Kalt, Maura Turi, Alexandra Valvano and Evan Tremback.

Back row: Jake McGovern, Stone Wormuth, Claudia Pitts, Jenna O’Malley and Gwyneth Serowinski.

Not pictured are: Shannon Baransky, Hannah Carr, James Docalovich, Collin Ennis, Marilyn Hoskins, Amanda Sakulich, Jacob Vituszynski and Joshua Vituszynski.

Leave a Reply