DHS Crimson Company plans for 2016-2017 Season

DHS Crimson Company Photo.jpg

Members of the Dunmore Crimson Company are excited to announce the plays they will be producing during the 2016-2017 school year.

First up this fall is Arthur Miller’s “The Crucible.” This exciting drama about the Salem Witch Trials of 1692 is both a gripping historical play and a timely parable of our contemporary society. As the small Salem community is stirred into madness, the play reaches its violent climax — the innocent are trial and condemned to the gallows by malicious lies, deceit and ignorance.

The timeless vision of “The Crucible” remains unrivalled in American Theater, winning a Tony Award for Best Play in 1953. Miller’s masterpiece is part of the Dunmore curriculum, so the production gives ripe opportunity for cross-curricular conversation and analysis of important events in both American literature and history.

You won’t want to miss the Crimson Company’s production of this powerful drama which will run for four nights; Wednesday, Nov. 16 through Saturday, Nov. 19. All of those showings will begin promptly at 7 p.m. at the Dunmore High School Auditorium.

This spring, the Crimson Company will take on one of the world’s best loved musicals, “Annie.” The beloved book and score by Tony Award winners, Thomas Meehan, Charles Strouse and Martin Charnin, features some of the greatest musical theatre hits ever written, including the eternal anthem of optimism, “Tomorrow.”

Based on the popular “Little Orphan Annie” comic strip by Harold Gray, “Annie” has become a worldwide phenomenon and was the winner of seven Tony Awards, including Best Musical.

“Annie” is the perfect family-friendly musical, and the Crimson Company production promises fun for all. Join us for two weekends, March 30 to April 1 and again April 5 to 8, 2017, for “Annie.”

The 2016-2017 Crimson Company officers are: Cessna Pendon, president; Mark Nealon and Nico Summa, vice presidents; Mackenzie Senatore and Aleia Sileo, secretaries; Tessa McDonald and Marisa Moraski, treasurers; and Gina Bernotsky and Justine Lim, publicity.

Lauren Brown, Jack Culkin and Will Meade will serve as junior class representatives. The sophomore class will be represented by Kaitlin Ahern, Julia Ingargiola and Julia Pasko.

Leave a Reply