Little Sisters of the Poor host 10th annual golf tournament

little sisters golf tournament pic

The Little Sisters of the Poor will host their 10th  annual golf tournament on Saturday, June 11, at the Scranton Municipal Golf Course, Lake Ariel.

Golf tournament registration begins at noon with a shotgun start at 1 p.m. The format is captain and crew. Singles will be placed on a team. The cost is $100 per golfer which includes green fees, use of a cart, an official tournament shirt, a gift bag, a pre-tournament refreshment reception, a light meal during the tournament and a post-tournament dinner at the course clubhouse. Golfers will also have a chance to win prizes based on their performance in the tournament including a new car courtesy of Matt Burne Honda, Scranton.

Several types of golf and sponsorship packages, which are great advertising vehicles, are also available including hole signs for $100 and sponsorships of $250, $500, $750 and $1,000. There will also be a grand raffle of the Sisters’ famous gift baskets as well as prizes valued at over $100.

For more information, please contact Mrs. Jackie Galvin, M.S., director of development and communications, at (570) 343-4065 ext. 3144 or Golf registration is also available at

All proceeds will be used to purchase a new bus for the residents of Holy Family Residence.

Committee members for the Little Sisters of the Poor golf tournament on June 11 include, seated from left: Jerry Musheno, tournament cochairman; Patrick J. Sheridan, tournament cochairman; Gene Cosgrove, Mother Theresa Louisa, l.s.p.; Sister Marie Therese, l.s.p.,and tournament cochairman, and Bob Blaker, maintenance director. Standing: Lisa Blaker, director of activities and volunteer coordinator; Janet Skibinski, MaryCarol Kanton, Jackie Galvin, M.S., director of development and communications; Karen Caruso, development assistant, Ann Kwak; Pete Kanton, and Charlie Butler. Also serving on the committee are Debbi Bean, R.N., director of nursing; Joan Blaker, Atty. Jim Conaboy, Atty. Kevin Conaboy, Mike Crossin, Theresa Durkin, Tracy Genell, Bill and Kathy Hughes, tournament cochairman; Chris James, Bill McDonough, Carole Paswinski, Eddie Ruddy, Pat Salmon, Kim Simchak, business office manager; Tim Speicher, and Dave and Joyce Tressler.

Leave a Reply