Dunmoreans Named Swift Scholarship Recipients

Swift scholarships

Eighteen students from 11 different area high schools, including two students from Dunmore High School, have been awarded a prestigious scholarship through the James F. Swift Scholarship Fund administered by the Scranton Area Community Foundation, which provides $4,000 per year for each recipient for up to four years.

The Dunmore students are Marley D. Palmere and Gerardo Sanchez Garcia.

The James F. Swift Scholarship Fund was created in 2002 by Mr. Swift through a gift to the Scranton Area Community Foundation to provide support for higher education for students graduating from high schools in Lackawanna County. Following Mr. Swift’s death in 2006, the Scranton Area Community Foundation gratefully received an unanticipated and significant gift from his estate to the scholarship fund which has allowed a great number of students from Lackawanna County the opportunity to pursue their academic and professional goals through higher education.

The scholarship aims to provide an ongoing stream of matriculation at Lackawanna County colleges and universities. It is the goal of the Scranton Area Community Foundation to award 75 percent of the scholarships to students who plan to attend institutions of higher learning in our area.

Scranton Area Community Foundation President & CEO Laura Ducceschi praised the generosity of James Swift, noting “he has left a permanent and enduring legacy for the young people of our region. His scholarship fund makes higher education more attainable for generations of students.”

The Scranton Area Community Foundation is a partner with Pennsylvania Higher Education Assistance Agency (PHEAA) in their Partnership for Access to Higher Education (PATH) Program to offer qualifying students additional financial aid. Through PHEAA, these scholarship recipients may be eligible for additional dollars toward their tuition.

Scholarship recipients include, first row, from left: Laura Ducceschi, President/CEO, Scranton Area Community Foundation; Rose Broderick, Chairman of the Board, Scranton Area Community Foundation; Tiffini Kalt, Colleen Noll, Stephanie Earle, Austin Glidewell, Jade Wehner, Karen Clifford, Scranton Area Community Foundation Scholarship Committee, and Tom Donohue, Board of Governor, Scranton Area Community Foundation.

Second row, same order: Natalie Sottile, Kaitlyn Savage, Brooke Mickavicz, Christina Carachilo and Marley Palmere, of Dunmore High School.

Third row: Cathy Fitzpatrick, Grants Administrator, Scranton Area Community Foundation; Jake McGovern, Mark Melesky, Ryan Skapyak, Kody Fitzgerald and Jenna O’Malley.

Not pictured are: Daniel Jaggars, Rebecca Johnson, Ben Koshinski, Kelly Kraycer, Ximena Maldonado, Megan Purcell, Julia Romanovich, Gerardo Sanchez Garcia of Dunmore High School, and Anna Van Wert.


For more information on the Scranton Area Community Foundation and the James F. Swift Scholarship Fund, please contact Brittany Pagnotti, Communications Manager of the Scranton Area Community Foundation at 570-347-6203.

The Scranton Area Community Foundation is on a mission to enhance the quality of life for all people in Lackawanna County through the development of organized philanthropy.

Donations to the Scranton Area Community Foundation can be made online at http://www.safdn.org/donate/ or by check made payable to the Scranton Area Community Foundation.

Leave a Reply