Little Sisters of the Poor Host Annual Golf Tournament

golfThe Little Sisters of the Poor will host their eleventh annual golf tournament Saturday, June 10, at the Scranton Municipal Golf Course, Mount Cobb.

Golf tournament registration begins at noon with a shotgun start at 1 p.m. The format is captain and crew. Singles will be placed on a team. The cost is $100 per golfer which includes green fees, use of a cart, an official tournament shirt, a gift bag, a pre-tournament refreshment reception, a light meal during the tournament and a post-tournament dinner at the course clubhouse. Golfers will also have a chance to win prizes based on their performance in the tournament including a new car courtesy of Matt Burne Honda in Scranton.

Several types of golf and sponsorship packages, which are great advertising vehicles, are also available including hole signs for $100 and sponsorships of $250, $500, $750 and $1,000. There also will be a grand raffle of the Sisters’ famous gift baskets with numerous prizes valued at over $100.

For more information, please contact Mrs. Jackie Galvin, M.S., director of development and communications, at (570) 343-4065 ext. 3144 or

Golf registration is also available at

All proceeds will be used to defer the costs of patient lifts and standing and raising aids for the residents of Holy Family Residence.

Little Sisters golf tournament pic

Committee members planning a golf tournament to benefit Little Sisters of the Poor include, seated from left: Leo Higgins; Mother Theresa Louisa, l.s.p.; and Tournament cochairman Gene Cosgrove. Standing, same order: Jackie Galvin, director of development and communications; Karen Caruso, development assistant; Tournament cochairman Bob Blaker, maintenance director; Janet Skibinski; Charlie Butler; Ann Kwak; and Atty. Jerry Musheno.

Also serving on the committee are Debbi Bean, R.N., director of nursing; Joan Blaker; Lisa Blaker, director of activities and volunteer coordinator; Atty. Jim Conaboy; Atty. Kevin Conaboy; Theresa Durkin; Tracy Genell; Tournament cochairman Chris James; MaryCarol and Pete Kanton; Bill McDonough; Carole Paswinski; Tournament cochairman Patrick J. Sheridan; Kim Simchak, business office manager; Tim Speicher; Sister Marie Therese, l.s.p.; and Dave Tressler.

Leave a Reply